Tuesday, 29 April 2014

Waar, Zinda Bhaag, MHSA Dominate the 1st ARY Film Awards

The 1st ARY Film Awards 2014 were held in Karachi with a glitzy star-studded ceremony on the evening of April 27.

Waar stole the show with 12 awards, while Main Hoon Shahid Afridi and Zinda Bhaag were big winners with 8 and 5 awards respectively, with the acting and technical awards evenly distributed among the two films.

First time directing sensation Bilal Lashari was the most decorated nominee of the evening with 5 awards in Direction - Jury's Choice, Direction - Viewers Choice, Cinematography, Editing, and Special Effects categories.

The show was hosted by Shaan Shahid, Sarwat Gillani, Fahad Mustafa Tunio, Hamza Ali Abbasi and Ayesha Omer. The performers on the show included Saima, Noor, Amna Ilyas, Ahsan Khan, Ushna Shah, Urwa, Sheheryar Munnawar Siddiqui and even the legendary Babra Sharif.

Pakistani entertainment industry icons of the likes of Madame Sangeeta, Mustafa Qureshi, Anwer Maqsood and Syed Noor were there to support and celebrate the new-age of Pakistani cinema and handed out the awards to the winners.

The great part was that quite a few new films were introduced in the show which are going to be released this year, including Jalaibee and Shaan's Arth 2. Oscar Winner Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy and ARY CEO Salman Iqbal announced the first Pakistani animation feature film Bahadur as well.

Well, there was a screenwriter category after all, with unannounced nominees. And guess who won! Islamabad's very own creative son Osman Khalid Butt clinched the first ever ARY Film Awards Best Screenplay prize for "Siyaah".

Another new rising superstar from Islamabad, Hamza Ali Abbasi won 2 awards, including the Viewer's Choice Award for Best Supporting Actor and Best Debut for "Main Hoon Shahid Afridi".

In the tradition of the subcontinent film award shows, this one was separated into Viewer's Choice Awards and Jury's Choice Awards categories as well. The nominees for Technical Awards categories were not announced.

Very appropriately, veteran actor Nadeem was decorated with the Lifetime Achievement Award. International sensation and the global heart-throb Ali Zafar was also recognized with a Special Award for his contribution to the Pakistani cinema.

The following is the complete list of winners of ARY Film Awards.


Best Picture 

Main Hoon Shahid Afridi
Zinda Bhaag
Ishq Khuda

Best Director 

Bilal Lashari - Waar (WINNER) 
Meenu & Farjad - Zinda Bhaag 
Syed Ali Raza aka Osama - Main Hoon Shahid Afridi 
Azfar Jafri - Siyyah 
Shahzad Rafique - Ishq Khuda 

Best Actor (Male) 

Shaan Shahid - Waar (WINNER) 
Humayun Saeed - Main Hoon Shahid Afridi
Khurram Patras - Zinda Bhaag
Mohib Mirza - Lamha: Seedlings 
Ahsan Khan - Ishq Khuda 
Adnan Shah Tipu - Josh 

Best Actor (Female) 

Aisha Khan - Waar (WINNER) 
Amna Ilyas - Zinda Bhaag
Aamina Sheikh - Lamha: Seedlings
Mahnoor Baloch - Main Hoon Shahid Afridi  
Hareem Farooq - Siyyah 

Best Supporting Actor (Male)

Hamza Ali Abbasi - Main Hoon Shahid Afridi (WINNER) 
Gauhar Rasheed - Lamha: Seedlings
Salman Ahmed Khan - Zinda Bhaag
Ehtesham - Chambaili
Noman Habib - Main Hoon Shahid Afridi 

Best Supporting Actor (Female)

Meesha Shafi - Waar (WINNER) 
Naghma Begum - Zinda Bhaag
Naila Jafri - JOSH 
Ainy Jaffri - Main Hoon Shahid Afridi 
Mahnoor Usman - Siyyah 

Best Star Debut (Male)

Hamza Ali Abbasi - Main Hoon Shahid Afridi (WINNER)
Ali Azmat - Waar 
Khurram Patras - Zinda Bhaag
Ehtesham - Chambaili 
Noman Habib - Main Hoon Shahid Afridi 

Best Star Debut (Female)

Aisha Khan - Waar (WINNER) 
Amna Ilyas - Zinda Bhaag 
Aamina Sheikh - Lamha: Seedlings 
Maira Khan - Chambaili 
Ainy Jaffri - Main Hoon Shahid Afridi 

Best Performance in a Comic Role

Ismail Taara - Main Hoon Shahid Afridi (WINNER)
Zohib - Zinda Bhaag 

Best Performance in a Negative Role

Shamoon Abbasi - Waar (WINNER) 
Shafqat Cheema - Chambaili 
Javed Sheikh - Main Hoon Shahid Afridi 
Mahnoor Usman - Siyyah 
Naseeeruddin Shah - Zinda Bhaag 

Best Singer (Male)

Rahat Fateh Ali Khan - Zinda Bhaag (WINNER) 
Rahat Fateh Ali Khan - Main Hoon Shahid Afridi 
Shafqat Amanat Ali - Main Hoon Shahid Afridi 
Abrar ul Haq - Zinda Bhaag 
Umair Jaswal - Waar 

Best Singer (Female)

Abida Parveen - Ishq Khuda (WINNER) 
Sanam Marvi - Ishq Khuda
Neeti Wagh - Main Hoon Shahid Afridi 
Zoe Viccaji - Lamha: Seedlings 
Iqra Ali - Zinda Bhaag

Best Background Music

Kami-Shani - Main Hoon Shahid Afridi (WINNER) 
Sahir Ali Baggha - Zinda Bhaag 
Wajahat Attre - Ishq Khuda
Aamir Munnawar - Waar 
Najam Shiraz - Chambaili 

Best Independent Film

JOSH (Winner) 
Lamha: Seedlings



Best Picture 

Zinda Bhaag (WINNER)
Main Hoon Shahid Afridi
Ishq Khuda

Best Director 

Bilal Lashari - Waar (WINNER) 
Meenu & Farjad - Zinda Bhaag 
Syed Ali Raza - Main Hoon Shahid Afridi 
Azfar Jafri - Siyyah 
Shahzad Rafique - Ishq Khuda 

Best Actor (Male) 

Humayun Saeed - Main Hoon Shahid Afridi (WINNER) 
Khurram Patras - Zinda Bhaag
Mohib Mirza - Lamha: Seedlings 
Ahsan Khan - Ishq Khuda 
Adnan Shah Tipu - Josh 

Best Actor (Female) 

Amna Ilyas - Zinda Bhaag (WINNER) 
Aisha Khan - Waar 
Aamina Sheikh - Lamha: Seedlings
Mahnoor Baloch - Main Hoon Shahid Afridi  
Hareem Farooq - Siyyah 

TECHNICAL CATEGORIES (Unannounced Nominees) 

Best Screenplay
Osman Khalid Butt - Siyyah 

Best Dialogue
Wasay Chaudhary - Main Hoon Shahid Afridi

Best Story
Meenu & Farjad - Zinda Bhaag

Best Background Music
Sahir Ali Baggha - Zinda Bhaag 

Best Cinematography
Bilal Lashari - Waar 

Best Editing
Bilal Lashari - Waar 

Best Special Effects
Bilal Lashari - Waar 

Best Choreography
Pappu Samaraj - Main Hoon Shahid Afridi  

Best Makeup
Nabila - Main Hoon Shahid Afridi

Best Costume Design
Sara Ghandapur - Chambaili

Best Action
Hasan Waqar Rana - Waar


Special Award for Contribution to Pakistan Film Industry
Ali Zafar

Award for Lifetime Achievement


StudioBloop congratulates all the winners of the 1st ARY Film Awards!

Here is to a brilliant year for Pakistani cinema! 

No comments:

Post a Comment